Friday - July 21, 2017
Home    About    Writers    Links    Contact     RSS

About the Author

Jack Huckel


Congratulations to the Galaxy and Other Great Champions

Written by on December 16, 2011 | 2 Comments »
Posted in General, Los Angeles Galaxy, MLS

Congratulations to the Los Angeles Galaxy on becoming the second Major League Soccer team to win three MLS Cup Championships.

It certainly is an honor worth celebrating. Only D.C. United has scaled to that height with their four championships.

For me this accomplishment creates a chance to remember the great champions of the past who also won multiple league titles in the American Soccer League (ASL) and the North American Soccer League (NASL) when they were the pre-eminent leagues in American soccer.

The first great league championship side was the Fall River Marksmen, champions five times between the 1923-1924 season and the 1929-1930 season. The squad won consecutive league titles in 1924, ‘25, and ’26 before the fabulous Bethlehem Steel side of Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup fame broke the string.

The Marksmen were back on top of the trophy hunt in 1929 and 1930, winning their final two championships in those years.

Hall of Famers Archie Stark and Werner Nilsen were among the leading scorers for the Marksmen of this era. The team, backed by mill owner Sam Mark, hence the team name, would fold following their last league winning season and many of the players would go on to additional league triumphs with the New York Giants and the New Bedford Whalers in the closing years of the first American Soccer League.

Following the “Soccer War” of the early 30s, the American Soccer League was reorganized and what is generally regarded as the ASL II was formed. In the first iteration of the league, teams were sponsored by commercial interests, like the Marksmen and Bethlehem Steel, but the new ASL was formed primarily of ethnic-based clubs stretching along the East Coast from Boston to Washington, D.C.

The ASL II’s first great champion was the Kearny Scots, winning five consecutive league titles between 1937 and 1941.

Among the top scorers for the Scots in that era were Fabri Salcedo and 1930 U.S. World Cup hero Bert Patenaude.

Their championship streak was stopped in 1942 by the Philadelphia Americans, the next great titleholder of the ASL II.

Following their first championship in 1935, the Americans, with such luminaries as Millard Lang, John Nanoski, Joe Gaetjens and Nick Kropfelder leading the way, would record six titles by 1952.

In the early 60s a new championship team arose from Philadelphia, the Ukrainian Nationals who numbered brothers and future U.S. national team coaches Walter and Gene Chyzowych amongst their squad. The Nationals won four consecutive titles from the 1960-1961 season through the 1963-1964 one and won two more championships in the 1968 and the 1970 seasons for a total of six.

Following the formation of the NASL in 1968, the ASL lost its billing as the top league in the United States. The new league was national in coverage rather than limited to the Northeast and found some deep pockets that created teams of international stature, none more so that the fabled New York Cosmos.

The Cosmos were five-time Soccer Bowl champions, winning their first in 1972 behind the scoring of Bermudian Randy Horton.

In 1977, Pele’s final year in the NASL, the Cosmos started a run of four championships in six seasons.

With Italian Giorgio Chinaglia filling the nets, prompted by midfield maestro Vladislav ‘Bogie’ Bogicevic, and with a defense marshaled by German international hero Franz Beckenbauer, the Cosmos dominated the league in those years.

So, thank you Galaxy for encouraging my mind to wander back and recall yesterday’s champions as we celebrate today’s!

You can get updates through RSS (top of the page), follow at Twitter BobbySoccerRep, or on Facebook

You can also find other Soccer Report contributors on Twitter by following this link.

2 responses to “Congratulations to the Galaxy and Other Great Champions”

  1. Kevin says:

    The “Soccer Bowl”! I’ve got some great memories of the old NASL, but man did they ever do some silly stuff to try to appeal to the masses.

    Great article.

  2. Gus Keri says:

    Nice article, Jack

    But this should come with a caveat.

    The major problem faced by any historian writing about soccer in the USA is the fact that, in most of the times, there were more than one league opperating at the same time in different parts of the country.

    The American Soccer Leagues I & II were mainly North Eastern leagues. There were Mid-Western leagues and Far-Western leagues opperating at the same time and there were no play-off among them to decide the overall national champion.

    The most glaring overlap was when a true cross-national league (NASL) strated in 1968. It overlapped with the ASL-II between (1968-1983). Many considered the NASL as the division I league and the ASL-II as the division II league. This makes the last two titles won by the Philadelphia Ukrainians (1968 and 1970) as not true national titles.

    This distinction could not be established in the first half of the 20th century, though, which put a question mark next to the names of the “presumed” national champions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

House Rules

Please refrain from posting comments that;

  • Attempt to demean, intimidate or bully fellow readers
  • Are racist, sexist, homophobic, sexually explicit, intolerant or otherwise abusive
  • Includes language likely to offend or attempts to try and circumvent this request
  • Could be considered spam

The House reserves the right to delete any such comments and to block further participation on the site.

Soccer Report Extra
© copyright 2010. All rights reserved.
Designed and Developed by:
Bills'eye + Underscorefunk Design